Klara Berge: " A memory of a Drum ", 2019


Asia-Europe 5 exhibition will tour 2021-23 in Finland, Belgium, Denmark and Germany. 

The AE5 exhibition presents works by 37 artists from Asian and European countries. Many of the artists have a textile background and they use materials and techniques that are textile and paper related but with a twist of contemporary arts. The exhibition presents culturally characteristics and original methods with a free use of textile tradition. Included are several sculptural art works made of materials that are familiar from our everyday life but are used in an unexpected manner with new techniques without names.In addition to means of expression the exhibition invites viewers to observe the value of the materials and the endless possibilities they offer and meanings they carry. 

The Asia-Europe Fiber Art exhibitions are based on the idea by Erny Piret and Kakuko Ishii invented 2009. Erny Piret was also the organizer and the curator of the 2 first editions. The concept of the exhibitions is to show the rich and creative imagination of European and Asian textile artists through their specific cultures. 

Asia-Europe 5 is curated by Marika Szaraz and Raija Jokinen. 


Participants of the Asia-Europe 5 exhibition: 
Edit Balog                                                                            Mi-Kyoung Lee
Klara Be                                                                               Beili Liu   
Ulrika Berge                                                                         Jiyoung Moon 
Kyoung Ae Ch                                                                      Sui Park      
Włodzimierz Cyg                                                                  Sandrine Pincemaille         
Verena Friedrich                                                                   Helle Rude Trolle   
Diana Harrison                                                                     Kenji Sato
Toko Hayashi                                                                        Magdalena Soboń
Chiho Ikeda                                                                          Amparo de la Sota
Chikako Imaizumi                                                                 Marika Szaraz & Richard Flament   
Severija Inčirauskaitė-Kriaunevičienė                                   Dani Tambour 
Kakuko Ishii                                                                          Takaaki Tanaka           
Mitsue I                                                                                 Sandrine Thiébaud-Mathieu     
Yasuko Iyanaga                                                                    Helene Tschacher    
Raija Jokinen                                                                        Takumi Ushio
Hyom Kang                                                                           Makiko Wakisaka
Chung-Im Kim                                                                       Leyun Wang  
Ieva Krūmiņa                                                                         Monika Žaltauskaitė Grašienė   

Popular posts from this blog

Selected artists for AE4

AE4 in Deutsches Textilmuseum 2019